Hello world!

Okay, so I’ve started a blog because I love to write. Why I would add another task to my plate is beyond me: I’ve already got two books pending, and I’m running a one-woman public relations and professional writing consultancy. Those projects are pending because I’ve not used enough discipline to get them finished–  and I love the process. But what I  know about writing is that you must keep doing it in order to continually improve and progress.  So here I sit, posting a blog to the world, doing exactly what I would love to do full-time for a living, and getting better at it each day.

I’ve been writing since I can remember. Probably since the ago of nine when I created a book about a cat using colored pencils and index cards that I stapled together. That’s when I also discovered that drawing was not my gift.  My cat looked like a gerbil with big ears, or a mouse crossed with a cat.  But I was proud of my “book”, and my parents applauded my creativity. Words have always been exciting for me; concurrently, they’ve been a vice.  I’ve learned through the years that words can and do hurt. I’ve been on the giving and receiving ends of that, but I have the strength to overcome their power and use those same tools to exact my lessons and share the outcomes so that others may benefit from my missteps, trials, and triumphs. That’s why I’ve made it my mission “to demonstrate the power of communication arts to invoke thought, generate action, and change lives” as I’ve embarked upon my entrepreneurial journey.

From daily newspaper reporter to public relations practitioner to mom, wife, sister, daughter, cousin, and all of roles I’ve been blessed to have, I’m determined to leave whatever I touch better than I found it. And when I make mistakes, I use my words to offer a verbal apology and a promise to do what it takes to avoid making that same mistake again. What if we could– and would–run our lives, households, countries, continents, and the world like that?

Like me, I believe we are still in progress.

About crystalswords

In progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello world!

  1. derek walker says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging! This should be interesting. I look forward to reading your writing.

  2. Sherry Harris says:

    Way to go, SS…you’re a magnificent writer!!!

Leave a Reply

