The Hard Part About Love

I’m coming to terms with the fact that because we are born of sin, our fellow man will inevitably cause us pain. It is how we handle this pain that determines our very future, as everything is cyclical. When someone hurts you, it is safe to assume that they are unaware of the residual effect of their behavior. Processing the pain and why we feel the way we do about it is oftentimes neglected inadvertently. As a result, we react rather than learn. Spew vitriolic hatred toward the offender without giving them the benefit of perspective. Hold grudges while the other person moves on without a clue.

I remember a conversation I had with my Dad nearly 20 years ago in which he admonished me to think about the Golden Rule and what it means. He reminded me that it reads, “do unto others AS you would have them do unto you…” not “do unto others and they will do the same unto you.”

So, I pray for the ability to forgive because I know that while we are born of sin, we are also equipped with fruit-filled spirits that bear the capacity to love. And I pray that I will use my life lessons to enjoy growth into maturity. Above all, I pray that I will learn how to share my testimony with others in a manner that lends itself to making a difference in the lives of others.

Perhaps that is why the greatest of our fruits is love, for it protects us from our own capacity to harden beyond repair.  It’s our choice: love bears all things and has the capacity for rejuvenation, while hatred is a simply a killer.

As for me and my house, beginning with the one God gave me that envelops my heart and soul, I choose love.

About crystalswords

In progress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Hard Part About Love

  1. Letetia Kimpson says:

    Loved it!

  2. Sherry Harris says:

    I learned many years ago that forgiveness is necessary so I can “get on” with life!

  3. And the greatest of these is love…hopefully others will read your message and feel the power of love which in so many cases begins with forgiveness!

  4. Joyce Alston says:

    Wow! That is an awesome insight. Thanks for those words of encouragement and I pray that I can put them to use in my own Circumstances.

Leave a Reply

